I wish I could say it just right

26 12 2008
The streets of lonely shanghai
through the bleached soft twilight.

Poplars almighty with shade
rustle changes in light.
All movement is a blur,
silent. Lines on sidewalks
entwine in each other.

A moving city in motion
multiplied and plied
stacked steel and longing
on my crisply breaking bones.

I’m all ribcage of course
my insides gilded by lights
on neon Nanjing road.

I dreamt I roamed the bund alone,
swayed by the Suzhou river.
I heard the two-stringed er hu
its sound the twinge of memory
the music of my father
running after my mother.


Actions

Information

One response

28 12 2008
Iz

Fei has a blog! Shiny.

Good poem too. But they’re all good at the moment. This is still one of your better ones, though.

Leave a Reply

