I put the jump rope there

10 01 2009

We bully him on the playground,
because shoes on flesh
is a satisfying sound,

because they do
and if I leave out
tomorrow it’ll be me –
pants torn,
eating fists and sand,

because he has my name.

My face reddens tomato shameful
while I strain to hold him.
My friends punch and spit.

I’ve seen a horse with eyes like his –
pools that glittered black on black,
while he reared in concert with the whip.

Someone puts a jump rope on his neck,
they grab the ends, I turn and run.

Run away to forget his face,
God forgive me,
that melting, sad, on-fire face.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

