Orphaned words need a home (truncated limbs, may be toxic and shocking)

23 03 2009

I don’t know why I keep these scraps of words. It’s like when I was little, and my parents left me w/ our neighbors after school each day. The lady who looked after me would always be sewing holes in shirts and things, and there would be a ton of loose thread everywhere. I would crawl all around the corners for pieces of this thread and bring them back to her. Frayed two-inch long pieces that were useless. That is what these truncates are, flooven threads.

 

I hope you know what I mean by flooven, I think you do, you must.

 

Anyways, someday I’m going to take all of these pieces and make them into a massive Frankenstinian surreal da-da-ish poem monster. Its yarn rhymes will cover the sun, its button eyed verses will bring human tears to koala cheeks. 

 

What a melodramatic intro to flooven. 

 

 

Cannibal lady writing

 

your words

tapped merrily forth

I splinter, and suck

the little ant letters

as they are merrily

tapped and issued

from your phalanges

 

I’ll feed on yours

and grow my own

 

 

I gather words you’ve said to me

Like marbles in my palm.

I review each, carefully,

Memorize the shapes

And vowels.

 

I imagine these marbles,

Tumbling from your mouth,

Me, stumbling to pick them up,

They tttrip mmee upp

 

 


Actions

Information

One response

24 03 2009
bindo

Great intro! The poem was awesome and I wish you well with submitting and jumping through the hoops of the gatekeepers…I attribute my new gray hair to them.

Leave a Reply

